The Colorado Avalanche: News from around the NHL - November 1st, 2013

Dave Sandford

Sandie is again unavailable, on her way to the Mile High City, so no cakes today either.

I feel obligated to mention the Varlamov story just because of the sheer gravity of the situation but I'm not posting any links or offering any opinion. The facts and myriad opinions are widely available both here and the internet at large. All we ask is that when posting you maintain the level of decorum that everyone has shown here since the story broke.

The Avs made a trade yesterday, Steve Downie for Maxime Talbot as you well know. Talbot was on a conference call after the trade, which the Avs site had a few quotes from. Talbot will join Martin Rucinsky, Mike Keane, Shjon Podein and Chris Stewart as Avalanche players who have worn #25 for the Burgundy and Blue. As with the Varly story, there's a whole thread dedicated to this on MHH, so go knock your socks off.

With the calendar turning a page, it is now Movember, the month of moustaches. Many NHL players other than Gabriel Landeskog and Nathan MacKinnon will be growing moustaches to spread awareness of Men's Health issues. I'd like to see Stats with some hirsute 1970's relief pitcher-type style, it'd be a sporty look for him.

The beloved Monsters are going full force into Movember with Cheek, Picks, Hish, Manson, Big Stef, Tam, Colin Smith (haha!), Desjardins, Moffie, Wyman and even Coach Chynoweth and Jock Callender growing 'staches.

"Growing moustaches is our business, and business is good!"

It's a good cause, check out their site if you have a chance.

David Van der Gulik was put on waivers by the Avs yesterday, since he was injured going into the season he was never officially sent down. This leads me to believe that he's ready to go against Grand Rapids tonight.

Weekend Schedule:

Monsters vs Grand Rapids Friday 7:30pm EDT/5:30pm MDT

Avalanche at Dallas Friday 8:30pm EDT/6:30pm MDT

Cutthroats at Allen Friday 9:05pm EDT/7:05pm MDT

DU vs Nebraska-Omaha Friday 9:37pm EDT/7:37pm MDT

Cutthroats at Missouri Saturday 9:05pm EDT/7:05pm MDT

DU vs Nebraska-Omaha Saturday 9:07pm EDT/7:07pm MDT

Avalanche vs Montreal Saturday 10:00pm EDT/8:00pm MDT (FOOTER NIGHT!)

Just want to remind everybody that we have a jam-packed weekend coming up here at the Big M. Pre-game thread for Dallas will be up soon if it isn't already, an all-new Monsters Desk comes out midday and the Game Day Thread will be up an hour before opening faceoff as usual. Recap following the game of course. Saturday will have special blow-out-the-budget coverage of Footer Night, PGT and GDTs and who knows what else.

Have a super day, and don't you go changin'!

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Mile High Hockey

You must be a member of Mile High Hockey to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mile High Hockey. You should read them.

Join Mile High Hockey

You must be a member of Mile High Hockey to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Mile High Hockey. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9355_tracker