clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards show Open Thread

In case anyone is interested in dissing discussing the winners of this year's awards, here's an open thread for ya. Hopefully, it will be at least a little bit entertaining. For those interested, the show is at 7 p.m. ET, on VERSUS in the U.S. and CBC in Canada.

Here are the nominees:

* Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey -- Ray Emery (Anaheim Ducks), Daymond Langkow (Calgary Flames), and Ian Laperriere (Philadelphia Flyers)
* Calder Trophy for outstanding rookie honors -- Logan Couture (San Jose Sharks), Michael Grabner (New York Islanders), and Jeff Skinner (Carolina Hurricanes)
* Frank J. Selke Trophy for outstanding defensive forward -- Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings), Ryan Kesler (Vancouver Canucks), and Jonathan Toews (Chicago Blackhawks)
* General Manager of the Year -- Mike Gillis (Vancouver Canucks), David Poile (Nashville Predators), and Steve Yzerman (Tampa Bay Lightning)
* Hart Memorial Trophy for most valuable player to his team -- Corey Perry (Anaheim Ducks), Daniel Sedin (Vancouver Canucks), and Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay Lightning)
* Jack Adams Award for outstanding coach -- Dan Bylsma (Pittsburgh Penguins), Barry Trotz (Nashville Predators), and Alain Vigneault (Vancouver Canucks)
* James Norris Memorial Trophy for outstanding all-around defenseman -- Zdeno Chara (Boston Bruins), Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings), and Shea Weber (Nashville Predators)
* Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct -- Loui Eriksson (Dallas Stars), Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings), and Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay Lightning)
* NHL Foundation Player Award for charitable and community work -- Dustin Brown (Los Angeles Kings), Mike Green (Washington Capitals), and Daniel & Henrik Sedin ( Vancouver Canucks)
* Ted Lindsay Award to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA -- Corey Perry (Anaheim Ducks), Daniel Sedin (Vancouver Canucks), and Steven Stamkos (Tampa Bay Lightning)
* Vezina Trophy for outstanding goaltender -- Roberto Luongo (Vancouver Canucks), Pekka Rinne (Nashville Predators), and Tim Thomas (Boston Bruins)