clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado starts cutting down the roster.

The Colorado Avalanche just announced the reassignment of some players.There are no big surprises as to who is heading home.

Mike Brennan and Zach Cohen have both been reassigned to the AHL, and will be reporting back to Lake Erie.

Four defensemen have been reassigned to their respective major junior teams. Two will be reporting back to the QMJHL: Gabriel Beaupre (Val-d'Or) and Dillon Donnelly (Shawinigan). Troy Rutkowski will be heading back to Portland (WHL), and Stephen Silas will be going to Belleville in the OHL.

Finally, goalie, Sami Aittokallio will be heading back to Finland.

Something to note, four players didn't participate in the training camp due to various injuries. Mike Carman, Cedrick Desjardins, Joey Hishon and Patrick Rissmiller.

2011 Avalanche Training Camp Roster

    1    Semyon Varlamov    G
    2    Joel Chouinard    D
    3    Ryan O`Byrne    D
    4    David Liffiton    D
    5    Shane O`Brien    D
    6    Erik Johnson    D
    7    David Van Der Gulik    LW
    8    Jan Hejda    D
    9    Matt Duchene    C
    10    Kyle Cumiskey    D
    12    Kevin Porter    C
    16    Jay McClement    C
    17    Chuck Kobasew    RW
    18    Brandon Yip    RW
    20    Greg Mauldin    C
    22    Matt Hunwick    D
    23    Milan Hejduk    RW
    24    Cameron Gaunce    D
    25    Duncan Siemens    D
    26    Paul Stastny    C
    27    Kyle Quincey    D
    28    Joakim Lindstrom    C   
    29    Ryan Stoa    C
    31    Trevor Cann    G   
    34    Daniel Winnik    LW
    35    J.S. Giguere    G
    36    Jonas Holos    D
    37    Ryan O`Reilly    C
    39    T.J. Galiardi    LW
    40    Mark Olver    C
    41    Tyson Barrie    D
    42    Brad Malone    C
    43    Justin Mercier    C
    44    Ryan Wilson    D
    45    Luke Walker    RW
    46    Stefan Elliott    D
    47    Evan Brophey    C
    54    David Jones    RW
    55    Cody McLeod    LW
    58    Patrick Bordeleau    LW
    64    Calvin Pickard    G
    67    Garrett Meurs    C
    88    Peter Mueller    C
    92    Gabriel Landeskog    LW