clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Explanation and History of the NHL awards - Part Four.

Getty Images

There are a number of different awards given every year. Some are to a team, but most are to honor individual efforts. Here is a list of the awards, what they are, some historical information on the trophy, and which Colorado Avalanche player, if any, won the award.

Jack Adams Award: Since it's inception in 1974 it has been awarded annually "by NHL Broadcasters' Association to the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success".

Avalanche Links: Marc Crawford won in 1995 while coaching the Quebec Nordiques. However, there hasn't been a Colorado Avalanche coach that has won.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy came about through sad circumstances. it is awarded to "commemorate the perseverance and dedication to hockey embodied by the 29-year old NHL rookie, the NHL designed the Bill Masterton Trophy for presentation to the NHL player who exhibits the same qualities as Bill Masterton."

Each team nominates one player that they feel has best shown that perserverence and dedication. It is chosen by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. Often it is awarded to a player who faced career and/or life-threatening injuries. the reason for this is because of Bill. He was checked while on the ice, injured his head, went into a coman, and unfortunately never regained consiousness.

This year Peter Mueller is the Colorado Avalanche nominee.

Avalanche Links: While no player has won while being an Avalanche player: Ian Laperriere won last year, Jose Theodore won the previous year.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Hockey players are different than other athletes. They focus so much on giving back to the comunity, and it is something they do not to get recognition, but to help others out. It's no surprise that the NHL gives an award for being such explariry citizens. The award is given to "to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community." The first winner was chosen in 1988.

Avalanche links: Shjon Podein won in 2001.

NHL Foundation Player Award: the award is given to the "NHL player who applies the core values of hockey—commitment, perseverance and teamwork—to enrich the lives of people in his community".The great thing about this award is that the winner wins $25,000 to use towards his favorite causes.

Avalanche Links: Joe Sakic won in 2007.

Bud Light Plus-Minus Award: Although a lof of people don't like the plus/minus statistic, this award is given to the man who has played "a minimum of 60 games, who leads the league in plus/minus statistics".

Avalanche Links: There have been three: Joe Sakic in 2001 (shared with Patrick Elias) , Peter Forsberg and Milan Hejduk shared it in 2003.

Roger Crozier Saving Grace Award: this is a fairly recent award, it was first handed out in 2000, and it is given to the "goaltender who has played a minimum of 25 games and finished the season with the best save percentage in the National Hockey League."

Avalanche Links: There are none.