clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NHL Awards Recap

Getty Images

Every year NHL'ers get together to celebrate hockey and hold their breath in hopes of getting their name on a trophy. This year, the Avalanche were represented by none other than rookie sensation: Gabriel Landeskog. He was up for Calder of the Year. For those who didn't want to sit through the awful jokes, random presenters who were unable to pronounce certain names properly, and awful -and I do mean awful- music, here is a run-down of what you missed.

Norris Trophy:Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators. Guess giving him a seven-year contract is a good choice!

Ted Lindsay Award: Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins. His fellow NHL players really do love him.

Jack Adams Award: Ken Hitchcock, St. Louis Blues. He had a fairly amusing speech.

William Jennings Trophy: Jaroslav Halak and Brian Elliott, St. Louis Blues.

Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy: Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning.

Art Ross Trophy: Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins.

Calder Trophy winner: Gabe Landeskog, Colorado Avalanche. Gabe was presented the award by Joshua Jackson. He also dedicated this award to his grandfather who passed away in February.

Editor's Note: Landy also gave credit to Ryan Nugent-Hopkins in his acceptance speech, saying that if he had not been hurt, RNH would have won the award. That Landeskog kid oozes class, doesn't he?

General Manager of the Year: Doug Armstrong, St. Louis Blues. Fairly unsurprising. Who would have thought the Blues would do as well as they did?

Frank J. Selke Trophy: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins. It's his first time winning this award.

King Clancy Trophy: Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators.

NHL Foundation Award: Mike Fisher, Nashville Predators.

Marc Messier Leadership Award: Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes.

Lady Byng Trophy: Brian Campbell, Florida Panthers. Surprisingly, he didn't thank the referees.

Masterton Trophy: Max Pacioretty, Montreal Canadiens.

Vezina Trophy: Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers. Seriously, if you missed his speech, Google it.

Hart Trophy: Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins. What a great night for this kid.

Also annouced: Claude Giroux was announced as the EA Sports NHL 13 Cover Athlete.