clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Preseason Game, gosh, what is it now, 7? Avalanche vs. Kings

New, comments

Preseason marches on between the Avs and Kings tonight at the Broadmoor World Arena in Colorado Springs.

Candice Ward-USA TODAY Sports

"Welcome to preseason hockey:  where everything is made up and the points don't matter!  That's right - the points are just like anything Jeremy Roenick has to say even when Patrick Roy doesn't have his Cup rings plugging his ears!

Tonight's guests include Champions 'til We Ain't: the Los Angeles Kings!  Mr. Glovehand: Reto Berra!  A Whole Buncha Guys: your Colorado Avalanche!  And the host, the World Arena's International-sized Ice!

Let's have some fun!"

***

Okie dokie.  Now that a proper intro is out of the way, let's get down to business.  The Avs will in fact be hosting the Kings tonight at the Broadmoor World Arena in Colorado Springs.  This is the first of a modified home-and-home with both teams dukin' it out again in Vegas during the Frozen Fury on Saturday.

But before they can head for the desert, they have to get through tonight.  And how this will work, I have no idea, especially since the last time I was the World Arena the ice was 15 feet wider than NHL standard.  Even the shape of the rink is in preseason form.

It happens.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>UPDATE: Reto Berra will now be starting in net tomorrow in Colorado Springs. Semyon Varlamov will get the start for the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Avs?src=hash">#Avs</a> in Las Vegas.</p>&mdash; Colorado Avalanche (@Avalanche) <a href="https://twitter.com/Avalanche/status/517416951485038593">October 1, 2014</a></blockquote>

<script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The larger ice might be great news for one member of the Avalanche - Reto Berra.  He'll be in net for the Avs, and as a player who is still in the process of adjusting to a North American game, returning to his European roots for a tilt might just be the thing his confidence needs.  Of course, it won't actually help him in said NA adjustment, but if he can keep his glove hand up for this one, I'll consider that progress.

Also, the Avs haven't won a preseason game yet.  Roy seems to still like what he's seeing as far as effort goes, but if we could get a meaningless W tonight, that'd be dandy. It would at least hush the critics up, and dangit, it's been too long since we've had an Avalanche win of any sort.  It'd be nice to get one in front of the hometown(ish) crowd as well. The next game in Colorado is the home opener on October 11.

According to a be-hoodied Roy after practice yesterday, the Avs lines should be roughly as follows:

Tanguay - Duchene - O'Reilly

Briere - MacKinnon - Landeskog

McLeod - Cliche - Talbot

Rendulic - Agozzino - Everberg

Some Mix of Johnson, Stuart, Hejda, Barrie, Holden, Redmond, Guenin, and Wilson.

Berra in net, Varlamov backup

Injured: Iginla (minor ankle injury), Mitchell (migraines, returning soon), McGinn (back, returning soon), Winchester (concussion), Bordeleau (back, out many moons), Vincour (no one knows), Street (possible knee?)

Here's to hoping everyone starts feeling better by the start of the season.  And here's the updated roster after 9 cuts were made yesterday, just in case you missed it.

The Kings:

Here's what I was able to find via Jewels from the Crown's preview vs. the Sharks two days ago (with some added clarification of course):

Nolan - Kopitar - Brown
King - Richards - Williams
Clifford - Andreoff - Lewis
Pearson - Weal - Cracknell

Muzzin - Doughty
Regehr - Voynov
Martinez - Greene

Quick
(Jones)

Scratched: Marian Gaborik (undisclosed injury), Jarret Stoll (hip), Jeff Carter (exhaustion from hat tricks), Tyler Toffoli (because reasons), Brayden McNabb (THIS IS WHY THEY SENT HISHON DOWN, GUYS, I FIGURED IT OUT!), and Jeff Schultz (Nachoville)

The Kings are undefeated this preseason (except for a pesky shootout against Phoenix Arizona, but those count even less than usual before October), so they've been rolling.  This lineup is likely to change, but it appears that the team hasn't announced cuts since the 29th, so this should be the full set of players they're heading into tonight with.  But more importantly:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" lang="en"><p>My daughter was upset when I said I&#39;d be away this weekend. So I had to explain it to her in terms she&#39;d understand. <a href="http://t.co/qx98uac3GK">pic.twitter.com/qx98uac3GK</a></p>&mdash; HSTHB (@HSTHB) <a href="https://twitter.com/HSTHB/status/517403135623446528">October 1, 2014</a></blockquote>

<script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is just a warm up for Vegas, so let's get it going and hope for an Avs win.


Frozen Fury Warm-Up Game

Puck Drop: 7:00 PM MT (6:00 PM Pacific, 8:00 PM Central, 2:00 AM London, 4:00 AM Helsinki, 5:00 AM Moscow, 11:00 AM Sydney, and oh yeah, I suppose, 9:00 PM Eastern)

Location: Broadmoor World Arena, Colorado Springs