clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado Avalanche: News from around the NHL June 25, 2014

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

St Patrick won the Jack Adams Award.

According to Avalanche forward Ryan O'Reilly, Roy is being far too modest in downplaying his impact on Colorado's turnaround.

"He had a lot to do with it," said O'Reilly, who won the Lady Byng Award on Tuesday. "All throughout the year he reinforced that whatever we do to do it intense and to do as best we could. There were times we could have relaxed a bit, but he kept us going. He made adjustments when he needed to. Without those adjustments there's no way we win the division in the situation we were in."

But O'Reilly admitted Roy's modesty did play a part in the Avalanche's success as well. He said Roy did not come in as a big shot, showing off his credentials and demanding respect. Instead, he earned that respect from the players, and they responded appropriately.

For those wondering the French is:

"Finally, I would like to thank the old organization of the Quebec Remparts that allowed me to realize this second option in hockey."

Oh, O'Reilly, you won that Byng by quite the margin...

Ryan O’Reilly of the Colorado Avalanche won the 2014 Lady Byng Trophy, which is given annually to the guy with the fewest penalty minutes …er, we mean, "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability," as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

O’Reilly’s margin of victory here was rather ridiculous: He had 1,181 points to 358 from Marty St. Louis of the New York Rangers, who was second. In third was Patrick Marleau with 323.

Nathan MacKinnon became the youngest player to win the Calder Trophy.

Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche won the 2014 Calder Trophy, which goes "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League," as awarded by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

MacKinnon, who became the youngest player to ever win the Calder at 18 years old (born: 9/1/95), had 130 first-place votes in the 137 ballots cast. Forwards Ondrej Palat and Tyler Johnson of the Tampa Bay Lightning were the other finalists, with defenseman Torey Krug of the Boston Bruins fourth.

An award that has always had a special place in my heart was won by Dominic Moore this year.

Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)

The winner is: Dominic Moore, N.Y. Rangers

Our choice was: Moore

Skinny: Players overcome personal obstacles all the time, but few can relate to Moore, whose wife Katie passed away in January 2013 after fighting cancer. Moore, whose comeback with the Rangers brought respect, has established the Katie Moore Foundation (, dedicated to helping patients and families with rare cancers.

A potential draftee wants to grow the sport of hockey in Germany.

When he’s back home in Germany, Leon Draisaitl sees soccer gear everywhere. In North America, he sees Sidney Crosby jerseys.

If he has it his way, kids in his native country will be wearing "DRAISAITL" on their backs in no time.

The 18-year-old centre doesn’t just want to be a top-five pick in Friday’s NHL draft. Draisaitl wants to become the kind of professional hockey player who inspires growth in the sport.

"I want to be a guy that maybe makes younger guys in Germany play hockey," Draisaitl said at last month’s scouting combine. "I’m proud to be German and I want to make the country proud and make as many kids play hockey as possible."