clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

GDT: World Cup Opening Weekend

New, comments
Hockey: World Cup of Hockey-Team USA-Practice Greg Bartram-USA TODAY Sports

Good morning all. The World Cup of Hockey starts for real this weekend with 4 games and all 8 teams for your viewing pleasure. In fact there will be an afternoon game and night game for the next 6 days, all of them at the beautiful Air Canada Centre in Toronto. Here’s the breakdown:

Saturday

Team USA vs Team Some of Europe
3:30pm ET/1:30pm MT on ESPN2/SN/TVA
EJ is now a lock pretty much for the Americans

Czech Republic vs Team Canada
8pm ET/6pm MT on ESPNNews/SN/TVA (ESPNNews, wtf?)
Matt Duchene is healthy and will participate

Sunday

Sweden vs Russia
3pm ET/1pm MT on ESPN/SN/TVA
Landy & Big Carl anchor the SWE 3rd line and Varly is RUS backup G

Team Excitement vs Finland
8pm ET/6pm MT on ESPN2/SN/TVA
Mack is out to embarass all of Mikko’s pals

All games are available on the WatchESPN App on your phone, tab or connected device. If you do not subscribe to one or any of these channels they will also let you watch on-demand some time after the game ends.

On the horizon: USA vs Canada on Tuesday night, plan accordingly.

Also, don’t forget that the Avs Rookie Showcase is this weekend. Surf on over to the Rookie Camp thread for all the latest from Westminster Promenade. Avs Prospects play San Jose Saturday afternoon and Anaheim on Sunday.