clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

GDT: World Cup Semi-Finals Weekend

New, comments
World Cup Of Hockey 2016 - Sweden v Russia Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

Good evening ladies and gentlemen. The World Cup round robin is over and 4 teams have been sent home. Now the rules change, no more shootouts, they play until someone scores. Three of the teams left are no surprise for the most part, but one is. The Misfits of Europe stunned the widely criticized USA Hockey entry and find themselves in a #WhyNotUs situation after little expectation at the beginning of play.

Schedule

Canada vs Russia
7pm ET/5pm MT on Saturday - TV on ESPN2/CBC/TVA
Duchene looks to take another step towards the weird-looking trophy while Varly rests on the Russian bench

Team Europe vs Sweden
1pm ET/11am MT on Sunday - TV on ESPN/CBC/TVA
Landy & Big Carl once again take the tough minutes for the Swedes

The Finals begin on Tuesday (and overlap with the Avs pre-season opener vs the Wilds), Game 2 will be on Thursday and the decider will be next Saturday if necessary.