clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gabriel Landeskog named Colorado’s nominee for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy

The Avalanche captain is recognized for his leadership both on and off the ice.

Gabriel Landeskog hanging out with Porter prior to walking the runway for the Avalanche Charity Brunch fashion show on March 11, 2018
Michael Martin/Colorado Avalanche

This morning, the NHL announced the nominees for the 2017-18 King Clancy Memorial Trophy. A representative from each team is chosen. This year, captain Gabriel Landeskog was named as the representative from the Colorado Avalanche. The trophy is the award given “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

The winner will be chosen by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The winner will receive a $40,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of the winner’s choice. The two runners-up will each receive a $5,000 donation.

Gabriel Landeskog has never been one to withhold his time when it comes to helping out in the community. Landy spends a lot of his time working with the anit-bullying organizations Friends Colorado. He became an ambassador for Friends in 2014, and focuses his efforts on promoting a safe, secure and comfortable environment within youth sports.

“I’m proud to support what Friends stands for. Any effort that helps make young lives happier is worth the work. I look forward to helping Friends start a global movement to inspire people to take a stand for respect and diversity.” - Gabriel Landeskog

Last year, the award was given to Nick Foligno of the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Back in 2001, Shjon Podein became the only Colorado Avalanche player to ever win the award.

Here is a list of all the nominees:

Anaheim Ducks: Ryan Getzlaf

Arizona Coyotes: Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Boston Bruins: Zdeno Chara

Buffalo Sabres: Zach Bogosian

Calgary Flames: Travis Hamonic

Carolina Hurricanes: Justin Faulk

Chicago Blackhawks: Duncan Keith

Colorado Avalanche: Gabriel Landeskog

Columbus Blue Jackets: Sergei Bobrovsky

Dallas Stars: Tyler Seguin

Detroit Red Wings: Justin Abdelkader

Edmonton Oilers: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins

Florida Panthers: Mike Matheson

Los Angeles Kings: Drew Doughty

Minnesota Wild: Jason Zucker

Montreal Canadiens: Brendan Gallagher

Nashville Predators: P.K. Subban

New Jersey Devils: Cory Schneider

New York Islanders: Anders Lee

New York Rangers: Henrik Lundqvist

Ottawa Senators: Mark Borowiecki

Philadelphia Flyers: Shayne Gostisbehere

Pittsburgh Penguins: Matt Murray

San Jose Sharks: Chris Tierney

St. Louis Blues: Alex Pietrangelo

Tampa Bay Lightning: Ryan Callahan

Toronto Maple Leafs: Matt Martin

Vancouver Canucks: Daniel Sedin & Henrik Sedin

Vegas Golden Knights: Deryk Engelland

Washington Capitals: Brooks Orpik

Winnipeg Jets: Matt Hendricks