clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nathan MacKinnon among betting favorites to win the 2019 Hart Trophy

The Avalanche superstar finds himself in some great company as betting lines open for the 2018-19 NHL season

NHL: Colorado Avalanche at Los Angeles Kings Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Last season, Colorado Avalanche superstar Nathan MacKinnon proved that he is truly one of the elite forwards in the NHL. After leading the league in Points/60 during the 2017-18 season, MacKinnon found himself as one of the three finalists for the Hart Memorial Trophy as well as the Ted Lindsey Award for the league’s most outstanding player.

After a 2016-17 season that was a disappointment for everyone involved with the Avalanche organization, MacKinnon became the unquestioned leader of the young team this year. Following the Matt Duchene trade, No. 29 put the team on his back and turned his line into one of the most dangerous in the NHL.

Playing alongside Mikko Rantanen - who had a coming out party of his own - and Gabriel Landeskog, MacKinnon set career highs in goals (39), assists (58) and points (97) despite missing eight games in the middle of the season with an injury.

Though he ultimately lost the Hart to Taylor Hall and the Lindsey Award to Connor McDavid, MacKinnon proved that the sky is the limit for him going forward - something that was reflected when the betting lines opened for next year’s MVP.

He probably should have won last year, now Nathan MacKinnon finds himself high up on the list when it comes to betting for this year’s winner.

Who would you put your money on?

Betting Line for the 2019 Hart Trophy

Player Odds
Player Odds
Connor McDavid 10/3
Sidney Crosby 13/2
Auston Matthews 10/1
Alexander Ovechkin 10/1
John Tavares 10/1
Taylor Hall 15/1
Nikita Kucherov 15/1
Nathan MacKinnon 15/1
Mark Scheifele 15/1
Anze Kopitar 18/1
Evgeni Malkin 18/1
Patrick Kane 20/1
Claude Giroux 25/1
Brad Marchand 25/1
Steven Stamkos 25/1
Vladimir Tarasenko 25/1
Jack Eichel 33/1
Jamie Benn 40/1
Patrik Laine 40/1
Nicklas Backstrom 50/1
Filip Forsberg 50/1
Johnny Gaudreau 50/1
Ilya Kovalchuk 50/1
Evgeny Kuznetsov 50/1
Artemi Panarin 50/1
Tyler Seguin 50/1
Blake Wheeler 50/1
Logan Couture 66/1
Phil Kessel 75/1
Joe Pavelski 75/1
Aleksander Barkov 100/1
Jonathan Marchessault 100/1
David Pastrnak 100/1
Alexander Radulov 100/1