clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

J.T. Compher to represent the Avalanche in NHL Gaming Challenge

The NHL has put together a 32 team Gaming Challenge to get the competitive juices flowing

NHL: New York Rangers at Colorado Avalanche Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

While the league is on hiatus, the NHL has found a way to create competition for hockey fans. Beginning April 30th, the NHL and ESL will run a four week EA SPORTS NHL20 tournament on PlayStayion 4 that will be broadcast live on both social media and the NHL’s television partners. Each of the teams will be represented by at least one active player while the expansion Seattle franchise will also be a part of the tournament and will be represented by veteran NFL tight end Luke Wilson.

The Colorado Avalanche will be represented by J.T. Compher.

This is the latest step in the league’s encouragement of their players and fans to practice social distancing and take all necessary precautions during this pandemic. As a part of the NHL’s Hockey at Home initiative, the tournament is being set up to raise money for COVID-19 relief and is meant to remind people that while it may be tough, what’s important right now is that we all stay home as much as possible.

Starting this Thursday, Los Angeles Kings TV play-by-play announcer Alex Faust will host the series of weekly matchups, which will be released on Thursdays and Saturdays. NBC Sports will air the first series of games, beginning at 5 p.m. ET on NBCSN as part of their Hockey Happy Hour programming.

In Canada, Sportsnet will air select episodes on Sportsnet ONE over four consecutive weeks, starting Friday, May 1 at 4 p.m. ET with all matchups made available on and Sportsnet NOW.

All games will also be streamed on the NHL’s social platforms: Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, Facebook Premiere and Fans can follow along using the hashtag #HockeyAtHome.

The NHL Foundation and Electronic Arts will donate a combined $100,000 in support of the CDC Foundation’s COVID-19 relief efforts.

If you have the means and would like to contribute, you can do so here.

Stay home and stay safe.

Full list of Participants

Anaheim Ducks: Cam Fowler

Arizona Coyotes: Conor Garland, Clayton Keller

Boston Bruins: Jake DeBrusk, Charlie McAvoy

Buffalo Sabres: Brandon Montour

Calgary Flames: Noah Hanifin, Matthew Tkachuk

Carolina Hurricanes: Warren Foegele

Chicago Blackhawks: Drake Caggiula, Alex DeBrincat

Columbus Blue Jackets: Elvis Merzlikins, Zach Werenski

Colorado Avalanche: J.T. Compher

Dallas Stars: Stephen Johns, Jamie Oleksiak

Detroit Redwings: Madison Bowey, Anthony Mantha

Edmonton Oilers: Caleb Jones, Darnell Nurse

Florida Panthers: Jonathan Huberdeau

Los Angeles Kings: Michael Amadio, Blake Lizotte

Minnesota Wild: Devan Dubnyk, Jordan Greenway

Montreal Canadiens: Victor Mete, Nick Suzuki

Nashville Predators: Filip Forsberg

New Jersey Devils: Mackenzie Blackwood

New York Islanders: Matt Martin

New York Rangers: Chris Kreider

NHL Seattle: Luke Willson, Seattle Seahawks (NFL)

Ottawa Senators: Brady Tkachuk, Chris Tierney

Philadelphia Flyers: James van Riemsdyk

Pittsburgh Penguins: Zach Aston-Reese, Bryan Rust

San Jose Sharks: Evander Kane, Marcus Sorensen

St Louis Blues: Colton Parayko, Robert Thomas

Tampa Bay Lightning: Tyler Johnson

Toronto Maple Leafs: Zach Hyman

Vancouver Canucks: Thatcher Demko, Adam Gaudette

Vegas Golden Knights: Ryan Reaves, Alex Tuch

Washington Capitals: Evgeny Kuznetsov

Winnipeg Jets: Anthony Bitetto, Kyle Connor