clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado Avalanche Announce Phase 4 Playoff Roster

They’re bringing the kids!

Colorado Avalanche Training Camp
DENVER, COLORADO - JULY 15: Vladislav Namestnikov #90, Nikita Zadorov #16 and Ryan Graves #27 of the Colorado Avalanche rest during training camp at the Pepsi Center on July 15, 2020 in Denver, Colorado.
Photo by Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

The NHL has announced the official Phase 4 rosters for each other 24 Return to Play teams. The Colorado Avalanche will be bringing 17 forwards, 11 defensemen, and three goalies with them to meet their 31-player maximum limit. The initially reported 28 skaters and unlimited goalies rule was changed following the RTP vote to 31 players, 52 personnel total.

The Avalanche have brought top defense prospects Bowen Byram and Conor Timmins with them. Forward Shane Bowers is another prospect along with Byram that has yet to play an NHL game that is on the roster, but he spent 48 games with the Colorado Eagles as a rookie in the AHL.

The Avalanche are one of 11 teams bringing just three goalies with them in order to bring one extra skater into the bubble, the others include Arizona, Columbus, Edmonton, NY Islanders, NY Rangers, St. Louis, Tampa Bay, Vancouver, Vegas, and Washington. It’s a bit of a risk to have only one spare goalie as teams are not allowed to add anyone, for any reason, for the rest of the playoffs now.

Here’s what the roster looks like, including a probable lineup from our friend Scott MacDonald, and at the end, a list of who was cut from the Phase 3 Roster.

The Phase 4 Roster


Pierre-Edouard Bellemare, Shane Bowers, Andre Burakovsky, Matt Calvert, J.T. Compher, Joonas Donskoi, Sheldon Dries, Tyson Jost, Nazem Kadri, Gabriel Landeskog, Nathan MacKinnon, Vladislav Namestnikov, Valeri Nichushkin, Matt Nieto, Logan O’Connor, Mikko Rantanen, T.J. Tynan


Mark Barberio, Bowen Byram, Ian Cole, Kevin Connauton, Samuel Girard, Ryan Graves, Erik Johnson, Anton Lindholm, Cale Makar, Conor Timmins, Nikita Zadorov


Pavel Francouz, Philipp Grubauer, Michael Hutchinson

Potential Playoff Lineup


Andre Burakovsky - Nathan MacKinnon - Mikko Rantanen
Gabriel Landeskog - Nazem Kadri - Valeri Nichushkin
Joonas Donskoi - JT Compher - Vladislav Namestnikov
Matt Nieto - PE Bellemare - Matt Calvert
Tyson Jost - Sheldon Dries - Logan O’Connor
Shane Bowers - TJ Tynan


Ryan Graves - Cale Makar
Samuel Girard - Erik Johnson
Ian Cole - Nikita Zadorov
Mark Barberio - Conor Timmins
Bowen Byram
Kevin Connauton
Anton Lindholm


Philipp Grubauer
Pavel Francouz
Michael Hutchinson

Who Was Cut from Camp


Vladislav Kamenev


Jacob MacDonald


Adam Werner

Eligible Players not brought to Phase 3 Camp


Colin Wilson (inj), Martin Kaut, Josh Dickinson, Nick Henry, Travis Barron, A.J. Greer, Ty Lewis, Jayson Megna


Josh Anderson, Mark Alt, Dan Renouf


Hunter Miska, Antoine Bibeau