clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nathan MacKinnon wins Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

Colorado Avalanche star Nathan MacKinnon is named the NHL’s most sportsmanlike player

NHL: Stanley Cup Playoffs-Arizona Coyotes at Colorado Avalanche Perry Nelson-USA TODAY Sports

Colorado Avalanche superstar Nathan MacKinnon has won the 2020 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy as the NHL’s Most Sportsmanlike Player. MacKinnon beat out Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Ryan O’Reilly of the St. Louis Blues for the honor.

MacKinnon finished 2019-20 with 35 goals and 93 points in 69 games while taking only six minor penalties all season. He then went on to dominate the first two rounds of the playoffs, putting up 25 points in only 15 games while setting a record for most consecutive games with a point to start a post season run.

The Lady Byng is voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association and is awarded annually “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

MacKinnon ended up with 64 first place votes, while Avalanche rookie Cale Makar recurved three fifth place votes. Despite not being one of the three finalists, Carolina Hurricanes defender finished with the second most first place votes.

MacKinnon is the first Avalanche to win the award since O’Reilly in 2014. Current Avs General Manager Joe Sakic won the award back in 2001.

Previous Winners:

2019: Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers

2018: William Karlsson, Vegas Golden Knights

2017: Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary Flames

2016: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

2015: Jiri Hudler, Calgary Flames

2014: Ryan O’Reilly, Colorado Avalanche

2013: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

2012: Brian Campbell, Florida Panthers

2011: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

2010: Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

2009: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

2008: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

2007: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

2006: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings

2004: Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Lightning

2003: Alexander Mogilny, Toronto Maple Leafs

2002: Ron Francis, Carolina Hurricanes

2001: Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche

2000: Pavol Demitra, St. Louis Blues