clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cale Makar wins the Calder Trophy for NHL Rookie of the Year

Cale Makar beats Quinn Hughes for the 2020 Calder Trophy

NHL: St. Louis Blues at Colorado Avalanche Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

After one of the best debut seasons we’ve seen in a long time, Colorado Avalanche defender Cale Makar has been named the winner of the 2020 Calder Trophy as the NHL’s Rookie of the Year. Makar beat out Vancouver Canucks defenseman Quinn Hughes and Chicago Blackhawks forward Dominik Kubalik for the honor.

Makar received 116 first place votes from the 170 voters. He was not left off a single ballot was no lower than second on any one ballot. Quinn Hughes got a majority of second place votes, while Kubalik didn’t get a single first place vote.

After an incredible 2018-19 season - in which he won the Hobey Baker and appeared in 10 playoff games for the Avalanche - Makar was even more impressive during his first full season in the NHL. The former 4th overall selection finished the season with 12 goals and 50 points in only 57 games. He then went on to average a point per game over Colorado’s 15 postseason games.

Not only was he a key part to the offensive success of his team, Makar proved he could be relied upon in all three zones. As the season went on, coach Jared Bednar added more and more responsibility to the point that Makar and partner Ryan Graves were playing as the team’s top pair on many nights.

Cale Makar is already well on his way to being one of the best all-around defenders in the NHL and the Calder Trophy is the first of what is likely to be many individual awards for the Avalanche rookie.

Next year, the Norris.