clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Colorado Avalanche swept at NHL Awards

A couple Avs got on the All-Star teams.

Colorado Avalanche and Vegas Golden Knights in second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA - JUNE 10: Colorado Avalanche center Nathan MacKinnon (29) look up during the second period of game 6 in the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoff series at T-Mobile Arena on June 10, 2021 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Photo by RJ Sangosti/MediaNews Group/The Denver Post via Getty Images

The NHL Awards were today and three Colorado Avalanche players were nominated for the major awards that were being given out. The Avs had Nathan MacKinnon up for the Hart (MVP), Cale Makar up for the Norris (Best Defenseman), and Philipp Grubauer up for the Vezina (Best Goalie). Unfortunately, the trio came home with nothing.

Let’s go through the awards and voting.

Hart Memorial Trophy

Connor McDavid won the Hart with 100/100 first place votes. He’s the first player to hit that achievement since Wayne Gretzky in 1982. Auston Matthews earned 69 second place votes and finished in front of Nathan MacKinnon in third.

Gabriel Landeskog got a few votes from the PHWA, as did Cale Makar.


Was McDavid the right choice for the Hart?

This poll is closed

  • 64%
    (485 votes)
  • 35%
    (272 votes)
757 votes total Vote Now

James Norris Memorial Trophy

Adam Fox won the Norris in a close race with Makar. Only nine first place votes separated the two, with Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman in third.

Devon Toews got a few votes, as well.


Was Fox the right choice for the Norris?

This poll is closed

  • 23%
    (204 votes)
  • 76%
    (678 votes)
882 votes total Vote Now

Vezina Trophy

Marc-Andre Fleury won the Vezina for best goalie in the league, beating Andrei Vasilevskiy by two first place votes, with Philipp Grubauer in a distant third. Fleury was third in wins, second in save percentage, and behind Grubauer in shutouts.


Was MAF the right choice for the Vezina?

This poll is closed

  • 38%
    (307 votes)
  • 61%
    (491 votes)
798 votes total Vote Now

Other Major Award Winners

Ted Lindsay (Best Player): Connor McDavid

Calder (Rookie of the Year): Kirill Kaprizov

Awards the Avs did win

The Avs technically didn’t go empty-handed, as Cale Makar was placed on the First All-Star Team as the second defenseman next to Fox. Mikko Rantanen was placed on the Second All-Star Team.